Meet the Blogger

Want to know more about your favorite book reviewer?
Read on!
All About Me
I am 27 years old and have loved reading since I was about 4.  Today it is all about technology, but for me, there is nothing like picking up a good book and turning the pages.
I am engaged to my wonderful man of 5 years, Richard.  (Being the DIYer that I am, I am making all of the little projects for our big day!)  We have an adorable 4 year old son named Eli.  We also have a (crazy) Siberian Husky, Anya; a lovable house cat, Schizzo; and a fluffly little chinchilla, Chilly.  Spending time with my family is one of the most important priorities in my life.  My ultimate goal is to be able to work from home so I can devote more time and attention to my son (and hopefully more littles to come later).
My reading preferences sort of float between genres, but typically I like young adult fantasy, mystery/suspense, adventure, etc.  I am open to reading just about any book and (whether I enjoy it or not) I will read it all the way through to the end.  My current book collection is constantly growing and taking over everything.  We actually have plans to build a bookshelf (with reading nook) that will take over one whole wall in our bedroom!  I prefer to buy from used bookstores (it makes me feel like I am rescuing a book that might otherwise be thrown out).  If I start a series I usually have to see it through until the end.
I am still searching to find the right career for me.  I earned my Bachelor's degree in Psychology & Criminology from Butler University with the plan of becoming a lawyer.  Halfway through my first year of law school I found out we were pregnant.  After some consideration I decided not to return to law school after completing my first year.  I was a SAHM for most of the next 18 months while working on my Master's degree in Psychology.  I spent a couple years in the non-profit industry coaching kids with behavioral disorders.  Since then I have returned to the legal field as an assistant as I continue looking for the right job for me.
I want to break out of the corporate-driven lifestyle that seems forced upon us and live a more relaxed lifestyle that allows me to be an active part of my child's life.  I don't want to have to balance a traditional 9-5 career while trying to manage a house and raise a family.  My search will not end until I have found a balance between work and life.  If I can turn my passion for reading into a career as a book reviewer that would be great.  If not, at least I am sharing my passion for reading with others.